“Arbeit am Gedächntis – Transfoming Archives”: Main programme with exhibition and events, May – November 2021. More: www.adk.de/gedaechtnis.

Film is memory work
3 Aug 2021

Artist Talk

For the film maker Edgar Reitz, memory is always subjective, selective and incomplete. In Heimat (1984), he made this a design principle. The film editor Bettina Böhler felt a great responsibility through her documentary to help decide how Christoph Schlingensief will be remembered. A discussion about associative and cinematic remembering. In German. Also available as live stream.

 more
Foyer view, 2021, Akademie der Künste, Berlin, Pariser Platz. Photo: Stephanie Steinkopf/OSTKREUZ
Foyer view, 2021, Akademie der Künste, Berlin, Pariser Platz. Photo: Stephanie Steinkopf/OSTKREUZ

Arbeit am Gedächtnis – Transforming Archives
17 Jun — 19 Sep 2021

Exhibition

Cultural memory is the basis of humanity’s future, and the arts and cultural institutions have a decisive role to play in this. The exhibition illuminates different aspects of the culture of memory with featuring 13 commissioned works by contemporary artists and 15 exemplary selected exhibits from the Akademe der Künste’s archives.

 more
 Still listening II © Annesley Black; www.oldcrow.ca
Still listening II © Annesley Black; www.oldcrow.ca

Memories in Music. Festival of Contemporary Music
6 – 8 Aug 2021

Concerts, Installations, Audio Walks

The festival offers broad insights into a diverse contemporary music practice that questions canons and aesthetic norms and participates in history-making, memory culture and social transformation. The focus on Lebanon is set by the concerts of Voice Affairs and Calamita. The ensemble mosaik and the installations present Walter Zimmermann's approaches to memory work.

 more
Richard Deacon, Flat 27, 2016. Photo: Mareike Tocha
Richard Deacon, Flat 27, 2016. Photo: Mareike Tocha

Richard Deacon. On the Surface
19 Jun — 28 Aug 2021

Exhibition

Every year, the Visual Arts Section presents the work of one of its members at the Kurt Tucholsky Literaturmuseum in Rheinsberg. This year's exhibition is dedicated to Richard Deacon and focuses on his new ceramic works. The sculptor, known for his experiments with materials, is interested in the interplay of control and chance in the creation of the coloured glazes as surfaces.

 more
"Werner Düttmann. Building. Berlin." – Presentation of the Brücke-Museum in the foyer of Akademie der Künste. Photo: Silke Briel © Brücke-Museum
"Werner Düttmann. Building. Berlin." – Presentation of the Brücke-Museum in the foyer of Akademie der Künste. Photo: Silke Briel © Brücke-Museum

Werner Düttmann. Building. Berlin.
17 Apr – 29 Aug 2021

Presentation

Berlin architect, urban planner and long-time Akademie President Werner Düttmann (1921-1983) was born 100 years ago, on 6 March 1921. As part of the Düttmann exhibition of the Brücke Museum, a presentation on his special relationship to the Akademie der Künste – to the building as well as to the institution – will be shown in the foyer.

 more
Graphic design © Ta-Trung, Berlin
Graphic design © Ta-Trung, Berlin

Arbeit am Gedächtnis – Transforming Archives
May – Nov 2021

Exhibition and Events

The Akademie der Künste and its Archives are a place of artistic memory work. On the occasion of its 325th anniversary, the Akademie is engaging in a new process of reflecting on its own institution as memory storage. The extensive main programme revolves around a number of event series and a central exhibition with 13 commissioned works by contemporary artists.

 more
Back of the painting Portrait Hanns Meinke by Rudolf G. Bunk © Photo: Carolin Faude-Nagel
Back of the painting Portrait Hanns Meinke by Rudolf G. Bunk © Photo: Carolin Faude-Nagel

A digital showcase affords an insight into the extensive holdings of the Archives of the Akademie der Künste. digital.adk.de. encompasses all art forms and archives of outstanding artists in the German-speaking world and makes them accessible. A new collection presents the ownership histories of selected paintings and sculptures from the Art Collection.

 more
Akademie der Künste at Hanseatenweg. Photo © Erik-Jan Ouwerkerk
Akademie der Künste at Hanseatenweg. Photo © Erik-Jan Ouwerkerk

The Akademie der Künste is an international community of artists that currently totals 402 members in its six Sections (Visual Arts, Architecture, Music, Literature, Performing Arts, Film and Media Arts). It is an exhibition and event location. A key component of the Akademie are its archives, which collectively form one of the most important interdisciplinary archives on 20th century art.

 more

Foyer view, 2021, Akademie der Künste, Berlin, Pariser Platz. Photo: Stephanie Steinkopf/OSTKREUZ
17 Jun – 19 Sep
Exhibition

Arbeit am Gedächtnis – Transforming Archives

Cultural memory is the basis of humanity’s future, and the arts and cultural institutions have a decisive role to play in this. The exhibition illuminates different aspects of the culture of memory with featuring 13 commissioned works by contemporary artists and 15 exemplary selected exhibits from the Akademe der Künste’s archives.

 more
Edgar Reitz, Heimat. Eine deutsche Chronik, film poster © ER Stiftung
Tuesday, 3 Aug
Artist Talk

7 pm

Film is memory work

For the film maker Edgar Reitz, memory is always subjective, selective and incomplete. In Heimat (1984), he made this a design principle. The film editor Bettina Böhler felt a great responsibility through her documentary to help decide how Christoph Schlingensief will be remembered. A discussion about associative and cinematic remembering. In German. Also available as live stream.

 more
Life is Impossible without Forgetting. Photo montage: Tony Elieh
Friday, 6 Aug
Sound Installation

6 pm – 8 pm

Memories in Music II Life is Impossible without Forgetting

The electronic musician and electric bass player Tony Elieh sees in forgetting a chance to escape Beirut, the Lebanese city repeatedly exposed to destruction. In his sound installation, he takes as his starting point the jingle announcing the news broadcasts in the Christian eastern part of Beirut during the civil war (1975-1990), reconstructed as the sum of acoustic memories in his circle of friends.

 more
Voice Affairs, Video Still © Panos Aprahamian
Friday, 6 Aug
Concert

8 pm

Memories in Music II Voice Affairs – Focus Lebanon

Voice Affairs is initiating artistic dialogues between European art music and the experimental music scenes in Lebanon. It is bringing together the Neue Vocalsolisten with musicians from Lebanon, Egypt and Palestine. From the perspective of contemporary composition, electronic music, sound art, improvisation and avant-pop, they are all concerned in different ways with the voice and its historical, religious and cultural connotations.

 more
Calamita. Photo © Mark Khalife
Friday, 6 Aug
Concert

11 pm

Hanseatenweg

Studiofoyer

Memories in Music II Late Night Concert – Focus Lebanon: Calamita

Calamita is the “rock project” of Sharif Sehnaoui and Tony Elieh, two of the most active musicians on the Lebanese experimental scene. In this version of Calamita they are joined by Lebanese drummer Malek Rizkallah. Together with Egyptian singer Aya Metwalli they aim to fully revisit the song format and explore the possibilities of classical Tarab songs, extracted from their origins and reframed within the music of the twenty-first century.

 more
Still listening II © Annesley Black; www.oldcrow.ca
Saturday, 7 Aug
Concert

8 pm

Memories in Music II ensemble mosaik

The concert presents the work of Walter Zimmermann as a work of memory and features compositions in which Zimmermann refers to pilgrimage routes to Sarajevo and Bosnian folk music as well as to musical cultures he documented on his travels. As well as works by Petros Ovsepyan, Annette Schmucki, Annesley Black and Leopold Hurt.

 more
Doppelbelichtung © Carola Bauckholt
7 – 8 Aug
Sound Installations

Memories in Music II Installations

Five varied audio-visual installations and one live performance are being staged in the many niches of the outdoor and indoor space of the Akademie der Künste at Hanseatenweg. With works by Carola Bauckholt, Tony Elieh, Carlos Gutiérrez, Guilherme Vaz and Walter Zimmermann.

 more
A Journey of Objects. Film still © Mara Louise Atkins

DIGITAL

Presentation

A Journey of Objects Valeska Gert Guest Professorship Anne Collod

The closing film A Journey of Objects of the dance studies students at Freie Universität Berlin brings together the results of an online seminar by French choreographer Anne Collod on the artistic legacy of recently deceased US choreographer and teacher Anna Halprin (1920–2021).

 more

Please click here for the programme overview.

Upcoming

12th Berliner Hörspielfestival, open-air and live-streamed 12 – 15 Aug 2021 more

NOTHINGTOSEENESS Void/White/Silence 15 Sept – 12 Dec 2021 more

„Arbeit am Gedächntis – Transfoming Archives“: Schwerpunktprogramm mit Ausstellung und Veranstaltungen, Mai – November 2021. Mehr unter www.adk.de/gedaechtnis.

Film ist Erinnerungsarbeit
3.8.2021

Künstlergespräch

Für den Filmemacher Edgar Reitz ist Erinnerung immer subjektiv, selektiv und lückenhaft. In Heimat (1984) hat er dies zum Gestaltungsprinzip erklärt. Die Filmeditorin Bettina Böhler empfand eine große Verantwortung, durch ihre Dokumentation über Christoph Schlingensief mitzuentscheiden, wie dieser in Erinnerung bleiben wird. Eine Diskussion über assoziatives und filmisches Erinnern. In deutscher Sprache. Auch als Livestream.

 mehr
Foyeransicht, 2021, Akademie der Künste, Berlin, Pariser Platz. Foto: Stephanie Steinkopf/OSTKREUZ
Foyeransicht, 2021, Akademie der Künste, Berlin, Pariser Platz. Foto: Stephanie Steinkopf/OSTKREUZ

Arbeit am Gedächtnis – Transforming Archives
17.6. — 19.9.2021

Ausstellung

Das kulturelle Gedächtnis ist die Basis der menschlichen Zukunft. Dabei übernehmen Künste und Kulturinstitutionen eine entscheidende Rolle. Die Ausstellung beleuchtet verschiedene Aspekte der Erinnerungskultur mit 13 Auftragsarbeiten zeitgenössischer Künstler*innen und 15 exemplarisch ausgewählten Exponaten aus dem Archiv der Akademie der Künste.

 mehr
Still listening II © Annesley Black; www.oldcrow.ca
Still listening II © Annesley Black; www.oldcrow.ca

Memories in Music. Festival zeitgenössischer Musik
6. – 8.8.2021

Konzerte, Installationen, Audiowalks

Das Festival bietet einen breiten Einblick in eine diverse zeitgenössische Musikpraxis, die Kanons und ästhetische Normen hinterfragt und an Geschichtsschreibung, Erinnerungskultur und gesellschaftlicher Transformation mitwirkt. Den Fokus Libanon setzen die Konzerte von Voice Affairs und Calamita. Das ensemble mosaik und die Installationen stellen Walter Zimmermanns Ansätze von Erinnerungsarbeit vor.

 mehr
Richard Deacon, Flat 27, 2016, Glasierter Feuerbeton. Foto: Mareike Tocha
Richard Deacon, Flat 27, 2016, Glasierter Feuerbeton. Foto: Mareike Tocha

Richard Deacon. On the Surface
19.6. – 28.8.2021

Ausstellung

Die Sektion Bildende Kunst stellt jährlich das Werk eines ihrer Mitglieder im Kurt Tucholsky Literaturmuseum in Rheinsberg vor. Die diesjährige Ausstellung ist Richard Deacon gewidmet. Im Mittelpunkt stehen neue Keramikarbeiten Deacons. Den für seine Experimente mit Materialien bekannten Bildhauer interessiert dabei das Spiel von Kontrolle und Zufall bei der Entstehung der Farbglasuren als Oberflächen.

 mehr
„Werner Düttmann. Berlin. Bau. Werk.“ – Präsentation des Brücke-Museums im Foyer der Akademie der Künste. Foto: Silke Briel © Brücke-Museum
„Werner Düttmann. Berlin. Bau. Werk.“ – Präsentation des Brücke-Museums im Foyer der Akademie der Künste. Foto: Silke Briel © Brücke-Museum

Werner Düttmann. Berlin. Bau. Werk.
17.4. – 29.8.2021

Präsentation

Der Berliner Architekt und Stadtplaner sowie langjährige Akademie-Präsident Werner Düttmann (1921-1983) wurde vor 100 Jahren, am 6. März 1921, geboren. Im Rahmen der Düttmann-Ausstellung des Brücke-Museums gibt es im Foyer am Hanseatenweg eine Präsentation zu seiner besonderen Beziehung zur Akademie der Künste – zum Gebäude wie auch zur Institution.

 mehr
Grafik © Ta-Trung, Berlin
Grafik © Ta-Trung, Berlin

Arbeit am Gedächtnis – Transforming Archives
Mai – November 2021

Ausstellung und Veranstaltungen

Die Akademie der Künste und ihre Archive sind ein Ort der künstlerischen Erinnerungsarbeit. Aus Anlass ihres 325-jährigen Bestehens beginnt die Akademie, die eigene Institution als Gedächtnisspeicher neu zu reflektieren. Den Kern des umfangreichen Schwerpunktprogramms bilden Veranstaltungsreihen sowie eine große Ausstellung mit 13 Auftragsarbeiten zeitgenössischer Künstler*innen.

 mehr
Foto: Christian Kraushaar
Foto: Christian Kraushaar

1696–2021. Die Akademie der Künste nimmt ihr 325-jähriges Jubiläum zum Anlass, um sich zu erinnern und die gegenwärtige Situation zu befragen. In Form von Kalenderblättern werden Ereignisse beleuchtet, die als Zäsuren das Leben der Künstlergemeinschaft geprägt haben oder Momentaufnahmen ihrer Geschichte bieten. In deutscher Sprache.

 mehr
Rückseite des Gemäldes Porträt Hanns Meinke von Rudolf G. Bunk © Foto: Carolin Faude-Nagel
Rückseite des Gemäldes Porträt Hanns Meinke von Rudolf G. Bunk © Foto: Carolin Faude-Nagel

Ein digitales Schaufenster bietet Einblicke in die umfangreichen Bestände des Archivs der Akademie der Künste. digital.adk.de umfasst alle Kunstformen und Archive von herausragenden Künstlerinnen und Künstlern im deutschen Sprachraum und macht sie zugänglich. In einer neuen Kollektion werden die wechselvollen Besitzgeschichten ausgewählter Gemälde und Skulpturen der Kunstsammlung vorgestellt.

 mehr
Akademie der Künste am Hanseatenweg. Foto © Erik-Jan Ouwerkerk
Akademie der Künste am Hanseatenweg. Foto © Erik-Jan Ouwerkerk

Die Akademie der Künste ist eine internationale Gemeinschaft von Künstler*innen und hat in ihren sechs Sektionen Bildende Kunst, Baukunst, Musik, Literatur, Darstellende Kunst, Film- und Medienkunst derzeit insgesamt 402 Mitglieder. Die Akademie ist ein Ausstellungs- und Veranstaltungsort. Das Archiv der Akademie zählt zu den bedeutendsten interdisziplinären Archiven zur Kunst des 20. Jahrhunderts.

 mehr

Neuigkeiten aus der Akademie

Stipendiat*innen 2021/2022 der JUNGEN AKADEMIE bekanntgegebenmehr

„Landschaft der Wörter“ – Helmut-Heißenbüttel-Archiv vollständig erschlossenmehr

Daphne-Caruana-Galizia-Preis für Journalismus fördert Verteidigung der Grundwerte der Europäischen Unionmehr

Freiheit für Julian Assangemehr

O.E. Hasse-Preis 2021 an Rasmus Friedrichmehr

Foyeransicht, 2021, Akademie der Künste, Berlin, Pariser Platz. Foto: Stephanie Steinkopf/OSTKREUZ
17.6. – 19.9.
Ausstellung

Arbeit am Gedächtnis – Transforming Archives

Das kulturelle Gedächtnis ist die Basis der menschlichen Zukunft. Dabei übernehmen Künste und Kulturinstitutionen eine entscheidende Rolle. Die Ausstellung beleuchtet verschiedene Aspekte der Erinnerungskultur mit 13 Auftragsarbeiten zeitgenössischer Künstler*innen und 15 exemplarisch ausgewählten Exponaten aus dem Archiv der Akademie der Künste.

 mehr
Edgar Reitz, Heimat. Eine deutsche Chronik, Filmplakat © ER Stiftung
Dienstag, 3.8.
Künstlergespräch

19 Uhr

Film ist Erinnerungsarbeit

Für den Filmemacher Edgar Reitz ist Erinnerung immer subjektiv, selektiv und lückenhaft. In Heimat (1984) hat er dies zum Gestaltungsprinzip erklärt. Die Filmeditorin Bettina Böhler empfand eine große Verantwortung, durch ihre Dokumentation über Christoph Schlingensief mitzuentscheiden, wie dieser in Erinnerung bleiben wird. Eine Diskussion über assoziatives und filmisches Erinnern. In deutscher Sprache. Auch als Livestream.

 mehr
Life is Impossible without Forgetting. Fotomontage: Tony Elieh
Freitag, 6.8.
Klanginstallation

18 – 20 Uhr

Memories in Music II Life is Impossible without Forgetting

Der Elektroniker und E-Bassist Tony Elieh sieht im Vergessen eine Chance, der immer wieder der Zerstörung ausgesetzten libanesischen Stadt Beirut zu entkommen. In seiner Klanginstallation geht er von einem Jingle aus, der im Bürgerkrieg (1975-1990) die Nachrichtensendung im christlichen Ostteil Beiruts ankündigte, rekonstruiert als Summe akustischer Erinnerungen in seinem Freundeskreis.

 mehr
Voice Affairs, Video Still © Panos Aprahamian
Freitag, 6.8.
Konzert

20 Uhr

Memories in Music II Voice Affairs – Fokus Libanon

Voice Affairs initiiert künstlerische Dialoge zwischen europäischer Kunstmusik und den experimentellen Musikszenen im Libanon und verbindet die Neuen Vocalsolisten mit Musiker*innen aus Libanon, Ägypten und Palästina. Aus der Perspektive von zeitgenössischer Komposition, von elektronischer Musik, Sound Art, Improvisation und Avant-Pop beschäftigen sie sich alle auf unterschiedliche Weise mit der Stimme und ihren historischen, religiösen und kulturellen Implikationen.

 mehr
Calamita. Foto © Mark Khalife
Freitag, 6.8.
Konzert

23 Uhr

Hanseatenweg

Studiofoyer

Memories in Music II Late Night Konzert – Fokus Libanon: Calamita

Calamita ist das „Rock-Projekt“ von Sharif Sehnaoui und Tony Elieh, die beide zu den aktivsten Musikern der libanesischen Experimental-Szene zählen. In der aktuellen Version von Calamita gesellt sich der libanesische Schlagzeuger Malek Rizkallah zu ihnen dazu. Zusammen mit der ägyptischen Sängerin Aya Metwalli erforschen die Musiker*innen Möglichkeiten klassische Tarab-Lieder aus ihren Ursprüngen herauszulösen und in der Musik des 21. Jahrhunderts neu zu gestalten.

 mehr
Still listening II © Annesley Black; www.oldcrow.ca
Samstag, 7.8.
Konzert

20 Uhr

Memories in Music II ensemble mosaik

Im Fokus des Konzerts steht das Werk von Walter Zimmermann. ensemble mosaik bringt Kompositionen zu Gehör, in denen Zimmermann Bezug nimmt auf Pilgerrouten nach Sarajevo, auf bosnische Volksmusik oder auf Musikkulturen, die er auf Reisen dokumentierte. Weitere Werke von Petros Ovsepyan, Annette Schmucki, Annesley Black und Leopold Hurt.

 mehr
Doppelbelichtung © Carola Bauckholt
7. – 8.8.
Klanginstallationen

Memories in Music II Installationen

Im nischenreichen Außen- und Innenraum der Akademie der Künste am Hanseatenweg sind fünf audiovisuelle Installationen und eine Live-Performance inszeniert. Mit Werken von Carola Bauckholt, Tony Elieh, Carlos Gutiérrez, Guilherme Vaz und Walter Zimmermann.

 mehr
A Journey of Objects. Filmstill © Mara Louise Atkins

DIGITAL

Präsentation

A Journey of Objects Valeska-Gert-Gastprofessur Anne Collod

Der Abschlussfilm der Studierenden der Tanzwissenschaft der Freien Universität Berlin A Journey of Objects bündelt die Ergebnisse eines Online-Seminars der französischen Choreografin Anne Collod zum künstlerischen Vermächtnis der jüngst verstorbenen US-amerikanischen Choreografin und Lehrerin Anna Halprin (1920-2021).

 mehr

Die Programmübersicht finden Sie hier.

Vorschau

12. Berliner Hörspielfestival erstmals als Open Air und Livestream 12.8. – 15.8.2021 mehr

NOTHINGTOSEENESS Leere/Weiß/Stille 15.9. – 12.12.2021 mehr