# AKADEMIE DER KÜNSTE

# **Press Release**

17 April 2019

### Akademie der Künste for Europe More than 50 members of the Akademie take part in a projection on the façade at Pariser Platz 4

As of today, pro-Europe statements can be seen on the glass façade of the Akademie building on Pariser Platz. They were voiced by more than 50 members of the Akademie, including Ai Weiwei, Olafur Eliasson, Ulrich Matthes, Michael Verhoeven, Achim Freyer, Klaus Staeck, Jürgen Flimm, Ulrike Ottinger, Kathrin Röggla, Matthias Sauerbruch, Margarethe von Trotta and Jeanine Meerapfel. The filmed portraits and statements of artists are projected onto Pariser Platz using an LED wall. Akademie President Jeanine Meerapfel invited the international community of artists to participate in the project.

"The widespread engagement of Akademie members pleases me greatly, because it clearly expresses the Akademie der Künste's intention to commit itself to the European peace project. The wonderful alliance of 28 European countries deserves to be preserved and protected. At the same time, we are committed to an open continent for a social and just Europe", Jeanine Meerapfel said at the start of the action.

The members' statements can also be viewed on the Akademie der Künste website (<u>http://www.adk.de/de/news</u>) as well as in the lobby of the Pariser Platz building.

In addition, posters from the project *Vote together* are installed on the façade of the Akademie. *Vote together* (<u>https://votetogether.eu/</u>) is a project initated by Akademie member Wolfgang Tillmans and the Between Bridges Foundation (<u>www.betweenbridges.net/</u>) that calls for active participation in the European elections. The posters display the date of the elections as well as the slogan *Vote together. Vote for Europe* in all 24 official languages in the EU.

The following members of the Akademie have contributed statements about Europe (in alphabetical order):

- 1. Hubertus von Amelunxen, cultural scientist and art historian
- 2. Fritz Auer, architect
- 3. Ai Weiwei, conceptual artist, sculptor and curator
- 4. Carola Bauckholt, composer, publisher, Intermedia artist
- 5. Volker Braun, writer
- 6. Winfried Brenne, architect
- 7. Jutta Brückner, director, author and producer of her own films
- 8. Ludger Brümmer, composer, video artist, acoustician
- 9. Victor López Cotelo, architect
- 10. Friedrich Dieckmann, writer and critic

#### Press and Public Relations

Pariser Platz 4 10117 Berlin, Germany T + 49 (0)30 200 57–15 14 F + 49 (0)30 200 57–15 08 presse@adk.de www.adk.de

Press photos on request: presse@adk.de

# AKADEMIE DER KÜNSTE

- 11. Olafur Eliasson, installation and media artist, photographer
- 12. Ute Eskildsen, curator
- 13. Dietmar Feichtinger, architect
- 14. Jürgen Flimm, director, artistic director
- 15. Fritz Frenkler, designer
- 16. Achim Freyer, stage and costume designer, painter, director
- 17. Jochen Gerz, photo, video and action artist
- 18. Christian Grashof, actor
- 19. Erhard Grosskopf, composer
- 20. Birgit Hein, filmmaker and film studies specialist
- 21. Nele Hertling, dramaturge, theater author
- 22. Wulf Herzogenrath, art historian and curator
- 23. Markus Imhoof, director
- 24. Wolfgang Kohlhaase, writer, scriptwriter, director
- 25. Karla Kowalski, architect
- 26. Günter Kunert, writer and scriptwriter
- 27. Mark Lammert, visual artist and set designer
- 28. Thomas Lehr, writer
- 29. Hilde Léon, architect
- 30. Ulrike Lorenz, art historian
- 31. Volker Ludwig, dramatist, theatre director
- 32. Volkwin Marg, architect
- 33. Ulrich Matthes, actor, director
- 34. Jeanine Meerapfel, director, author of feature films and documentaries
- 35. Helke Misselwitz, director
- 36. Peter Nestler, documentary filmmaker
- 37. Ulrike Ottinger, director, camerawoman, photographer, scriptwriter
- 38. Ulrich Peltzer, writer
- 39. Maja S. K. Ratkje, composer and performer
- 40. Ian Ritchie, architect and city planner
- 41. Kathrin Röggla, writer
- 42. Michael Ruetz, photographer
- 43. Helke Sander, director and author
- 44. Matthias Sauerbruch, architect
- 45. Kathrin Schmidt, writer
- 46. Vladimír Šlapeta, architect, architectural historian
- 47. Mathias Spahlinger, composer
- 48. Klaus Staeck, graphic artist, publisher
- 49. Margarethe von Trotta, director, scriptwriter, actress
- 50. Manos Tsangaris, composer
- 51. Andres Veiel, author, director
- 52. Michael Verhoeven, director, author, actor
- 53. Klaus Völker, dramaturge, writer, theatre historian
- 54. Caspar Johannes Walter, composer, cellist and publisher

#### Press and Public Relations

Pariser Platz 4 10117 Berlin, Germany T + 49 (0)30 200 57–15 14 F + 49 (0)30 200 57–15 08 presse@adk.de www.adk.de

Press photos on request: presse@adk.de